Thursday, July 3, 2008

Arrested under ISA

22 Sept 1998

(includes update)

SUARAM is urging all NGOs and individuals to take immediate action on the current situation in Malaysia.

a) Arrests

As of 10:00 am, 22nd September 1998, there are 12 individuals confirmed detained under the Internal Security Act S 73(1)(A). According to Bukit Aman police headquarters public relations chief, the 12 were arrested because their actions were "prejudicial to the security of the nation".

The 12 are as follows:

1. Anwar Ibrahim, ex-Deputy Prime Minister
2. Ruslan Kassim, Chief of Negeri Sembilan UMNO Youth
3. Kamaruddin Mat Noor, Semarak state assenblyman
4. Zahid Hamidi, UMNO Youth Chief, MP for Bagan Datoh
5. Ahmad Azam Abdul Rahman, President of ABIM
6. Mukhtar Redhuan, Deputy President ABIM
7. Shaharuddin Badaruddin, Secretary General ABIM
8. Abdul Halim Ismail, Deputy National President ABIM
9. Kamarudin Jaafar, Chairman of Institute for Policy Research
10. Tamunif Mokhtar, Division Head of Cheras UMNO
11. Abdul Manan, President of National Muslim Students Association
12. Prof. Dr. Siddiq Baba, Student Affairs Rector of International Islamic University




MP Pas

Parliament News

  © Blogger template 'Perfection' by 2008

Back to TOP